Row C, Republicans Sweep Town Races

by Christopher O'Brien

By Chris O’Brien

Wolcott has a new Town Clerk as Karen Mowad won her first election by only 66 votes over Republican Denise Lagasse and Democrat Julie Santarsiero. Mowad is one of two newly elected town officials to win as petitioning candidates, along with Deborah Golden who won a seat on the Town Council.

Three out of Wolcott’s top four municipal officials won their seats as unaffiliated candidates with Tax Collector Darlene Tynan and Mayor Tom Dunn returning unopposed. Town Treasurer Anthony Marino turned back a challenge by David Fitzgerald. Marino is a Republican.

Republicans also had a very successful night in Wolcott, sweeping every possible seat available to them on down-ticket races. Local GOP candidates bucked a statewide trend where Democrats picked up seats in many towns that were previously held by Republicans. Yet, despite the continuance of Republican Party rule, there will be many new faces leading local government.

Mowad, who is currently the town’s Assistant Town Clerk, will assume the office as Debbie Slater retires from the post.

Jeff Slavin opted to end his service on the Town Council, allowing political newcomer Police Captain Domenic Angillilo to take his place in joining Chairman David Valletta representing District 1 in the most competitive race for Town Council. Deborah Golden ran a solo bid on petitioning candidate Row C, winning the third seat from the District, locking out Democrats Timothy McMurray and Linda Segal.

Fran Masi is returning to the Council  as the longest serving elected official in town. Don Charette and Rachel Wisler will rejoin him from the Second District. Council Vice Chairwoman Gale Mastrofransesco and Roger Picard easily won re-election bids from District 3. John Murphy beat out fellow Democrat Joe Membrino to become the third representative from District 3.

The Town Council will now be comprised of 6 Republicans, 2 Democrats, and 1 Independent. George Phelan from the 1st District did not to run again, so there are three newcomers to the Council.

The Board of Education has four returning members from the current Board in Democrats Tony Gugliotti and Thomas Buzzelli, as well as Republicans Cindy Mancini and Roberta Leonard. Kathy Cordone and Lori DeBuono-Bartlett are rejoining the Board after had served previously. DelBuono-Bartlett ran as a Democrat and this year as a Republican.

Paul D’Angelo, who served for several years on Waterbury’s Board of Education also won a seat, as did newcomers Kelly Mazza and Christopher Charette.

Chairwoman Patricia Najarian, and longtime members Gloria Gubitosi, Gloria Clair, Kim Lumia and Art Lerz retired from the Board.

The Board of Assessment Appeals will be comprised of Adam Glasser, Harry Fitzgerald, and Mary Szabo.

The Zoning Board of Appeals has five members with James Treanor, Ken Barnes, Steven Grant, Roland Dupre, and John McCarthy.

Each of the six Constables won their races.

Buzzelli received the most votes among Democratic candidates with 1735. Only Lagasse received less than 2,000 votes in her close the three-way race for Town Clerk among Republicans.

The Secretary of State’s website has the election results listed HERE.



See an error? Let us know at

Be Sociable, Share!

Comments are closed.